The Dextroverse

DXM-related News Dextromethorphan-related news. This particular section is publicly viewable. Feel free to post comments.

(#1)
Old
void Offline
The Driver of the Shortbus

My Mood: Flirty
Default 02-19-2004, 10:43 PM

FORSYTH COUNTY, N.C. -- It's cheap, it's legal, and available at any drug store.

Teen: I Couldn't Move After Taking Triple C

WXII 12 News' Melissa Marsh investigates the latest, dangerous way for teenagers to get high. Teenagers call it Triple C, Skittles, or Red Devils.

The little red pills are Coricidin HPG, a popular over-the-counter cold medicine that looks like candy and has three C's on it.

Teen: This Drug Is Dangerous

"I tried triple C probably when I was a freshman. I took 8 the first time and 6 the second time," said Leslie Miller (pictured, left).

"The first time, I was laying on a bed and I didn't move for about 4 hours. In order to smoke a cigarette, somebody had to hold it up to my mouth and I could barely inhale. I couldn't do anything, I could not move," said Miller.

Miller said she felt like she was drunk. She said it was a horrible feeling. And many times teenagers chase the pills with alcohol.

"Some people that I know have taken like 16 and it makes them go crazy, like tripping on acid kind of thing," said Miller.

The active ingredient in Coricidin is Dextromethorphan, known as DXM.

"At higher doses, they may have trouble walking, their eyes may not look normal. In fact, they may have sort of a darting pattern in their eyes," said Dr. Anna Rouse with Carolinas Poison Center (pictured, right). Rouse said in the last three years there has been an increase in the abuse of DXM.

"We get calls about alcohol, marijuana, cocaine, but the Dextromethorphan is something we are getting increasingly more calls about. It is an up and coming phenomenon that we can expect to stick around for several years, at least," said Rouse.